posted February 7th, 2017

 Burning the Threshold brings a wealth of Six Organs-styled lightness into one of his sweetest musical meditations yet. A head-full of ideas were driving Ben Chasny to think and speak music as a spirituality superimposed onto a reality, with the ghosts of both whispering at each other. In the end, what sits in our listening ears is the sound of communion. And with a brain that at times seems to throb with such intensity as to possibly burst the seems of his skull, Chasny's perpetual thirst for knowledge and inspiration often comes from unlikely places. Unlikely for many, at least - but most songs on Burning The Threshold are colored by a historically Chasny-an commonality.

This couldn't be more true of the album's second single: "Threshold of Light" is in fact completely congruent with the Six Organs school of (flowering) thought. Inspired by the works of Algis Uzdavinys and Aaron Cheak, "Threshold of Light" is a spectral mediation on ancient myths and alchemy; a sly nod back to "S/Word and Leviathan" found on Asleep on the Floodplain. "Threshold of Light" is draped in shadowy illusions and ethereal sounds, as weeping harmonies stretch and transport Ben's words from this astral plane to another. Listen below and mark your calendars for when 6OOA orbs into your town in the coming weeks!


02/22/17 Thu in London, UK at St. Pancras Church (Record Release Show)
03/02/17 Thu in Vancouver, BC at The Cobalt
03/03/17 Fri in Seattle, WA at Fremont Abbey Arts Center
03/04/17 Sat in Portland, OR at Bunk Bar
03/06/17 Mon in San Francisco, CA at The Chapel
03/07/17 Tue in Los Angeles, CA at Bootleg Bar
03/08/17 Wed in San Diego, CA at Soda Bar
03/23-26/17 in Knoxville, TN at Big Ears Festival
03/28/17 Tue in Atlanta, GA at The Earl
03/29/17 Wed in Asheville, NC at Mothlight
03/30/17 Thu in Raleigh, NC at Kings
03/31/17 Fri in Washington, DC at DC9
04/01/17 Sat in Brooklyn, NY at Union Pool
04/02/17 Sun in Boston, MA at Great Scott
04/03/17 Mon in Portland, ME at Space Gallery
04/05/17 Wed in Philadelphia, PA at Johnny Brenda's
04/06/17 Thu in Pittsburgh, PA at Club Cafe
04/07/17 Fri in Cleveland, OH at Beachland Tavern
04/08/17 Sat in Detroit, MI at Third Man Records
04/09/17 Sun in Chicago, IL at Empty Bottle
04/10/17 Mon in Minneapolis, MN at 7th St. Entry
04/12/17 Wed in Milwaukee, WI at Collectivo Coffee
04/14/17 Fri in St. Louis, MO at Duck Room at Blueberry Hill
04/15/17 Sat in Louisville, KY at Zanzabar

Artists in this story: Six Organs of Admittance