Angus MacLise

Astral Collapse


Catalog #
Compact Disc $8.00

All Tracks

  1. Smothered Under Astral Collapse

  2. 6th Face Of The Angel

  3. Beelzebub

  4. Cloud Watching

  5. Dracula

  6. Dawn Chorus

About this product

MacLise's brief-but-legendary life was an incessant pursuit of the dharma, and the tapes he left behind in his archive testify vividly to the distances he was inspired to go.  Astral Collapse is one of several culls from the archival recordings eventually made into posthumous releases, featuring his DIY tape collage assembly of field recordings, chants, ARP synth, bells, bongos and organ drones, making a kaleidoscopic sequence of sonic encounters and a backdrop for intermittent recitations of Buddhist prose and poetry. Purely mind-altering transmissions from a past where such experiences were prized and pursued like rare magic.