Socialisme ou Barbarie: The Bedroom Recordings


Drag City
Catalog #
LP $20.00
Compact Disc $12.00

All Tracks

  1. Enfin Seule 3:17

  2. Cache Cache 4:36

  3. Vent du Sud 1:50

  4. Un Secret Sans Importance 2:12

  5. Witch Hazel 1:54

  6. Un Express 4:46

  7. Sunrise Telling 2:39

  8. Vol de Jour 4:08

  9. La Carotte de L'Humanité 1:19

  10. Graine de Beauté 3:15

  11. Ode to a Keyring 3:59

  12. The Swimm 1:31

About this product

Socialisme ou Barbarie (The Bedroom Recordings) is the delightful debut album from Monade. Monade, if you haven't heard, is the nom de plume of Laetitia Sadier when she isn't fronting Stereolab with her singing, moog playing, tambourine and, of late, trombone. The relatively spare arrangements create a mood slightly more tranquil than Stereolab sounds of late, bringing to mind not only the Peng! Era but also folky sounds not always associated with Laetitia's music up to this time. The setting allows for the beauty and simplicity of her songs to shine through. In short, Socialism ou Barbarie is perfect for bedroom reading. Or any space you please.